About the Axiom Awards

The 2009 Axiom Business Book Awards are celebrating their second year with 22 different categories of awards, designed to bring increased recognition to the year’s very best business books and their creators.

This year’s book awards program will accept entries until November 24, 2008 for books with 2007 or 2008 copyrights or that were released in 2007 or 2008. The contest is presented by Jenkins Group Inc., a Michigan-based book publishing and marketing services company that has operated the popular Independent Publisher Book Awards contest since 1996.

The goal of the awards is to celebrate the innovative, intelligent, and creative aspects of the books that make us think, see, and work differently every day. The awards offer no global boundaries, giving participants from every continent the opportunity to earn further recognition for their English-language titles.

Celebrate with us and experience the greatest business books the world has to offer … yours!


Who can enter?
Authors and publishers throughout North America and overseas publishers who publish English-language books with a 2007 or 2008 copyright or that were released in 2007 or 2008 intended for the American market may enter. Print-On-Demand and other independent authors are welcome to enter their books themselves.

What does it cost?
Entry fees are based on a per-title, per-category basis. Early-bird entry fees are available offering discounts to those who register before our posted deadlines:

Early-bird entry #1 – May 15, 2008 – July 15, 2008 – $95 per title, per category
Early-bird entry #2 – July 16, 2008 – Sept. 15, 2008 – $115 per title, per category
Regular entry – Sept.16, 2008 – Nov. 24, 2008 – $135 per title, per category 


Are awards programs worth the money and effort?

Entering your titles in an awards program does take time, money, and effort, but the possible payoffs include financial reward, personal satisfaction, and prestige. Awards are a great morale boost for all those involved, and they influence reviewers and buyers. The gold seal prominently placed on the book cover often captures the buyer’s attention and leads to higher sales. For example, one of the winners in our inaugural Independent Publisher Book Awards contest reordered 6,000 IPPY stickers for their latest print run. The book (originally published in 1996) keeps on selling, thanks in part to that gold seal on the cover.

What sets the Axiom Awards apart?

The Axiom Awards are 100% dedicated to identifying the best business books published each year for the North American market. The Axiom Awards are the only U.S.-based award contest focused solely on business books. Winner, Finalists, and Honorable Mentions appear for an entire year at www.axiomawards.com. Winners will also be featured in www.IndependentPublisher.com and highlighted prominently in our monthly newsletter, which goes out to more than 20,000 subscribers worldwide, many of whom are agents, buyers, and librarians.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: